Posted in Article, English

Three-feet Fall

Like his usual days, yesterday morning my 8-month-old baby took his morning nap. He already has his morning routine: wake up around 6am, play for a while, have his breakfast, bath and nap.

When I heard his soft cry at 9am, I hurriedly back to my room and saw my baby on the floor! He was not crying – yet. My body shook all over and I was in disbelief – how could I let this incident happened!

I lifted him up and at that moment he started to cry out loud. I wanted to cry, but I was too shocked and fearful. I called to my mom – she was shocked but hurriedly change her attitude. She said that: If everyone is panicking, who will take care of the baby?

I held my baby tightly, told him that I was sorry and started to softly rub his left forehead with some gel to reduce the swollen. Up until today, I still can see the blurry bluish mark on his forehead.

I asked his pediatrician immediately following his fall. She said that as long as my baby did not throw up or showing any signs of dizziness, I don’t have to be worry. Observation is the key, she said.

Well, out of my fear and in with my hope, my baby is back to his gene of being a laughter in a short time. He was easily laughing out loud with us, blink his eyes to attract our amusement and just being himself. He is fine.

He fell from my three-feet bed and recovers well. I sank into the pit of guilty feeing and looking forward to walk out of this pit. One side of me saying that the incident should not happened if I care and aware of the imminent danger. The other side of me whispering that I shall forgive myself and just be his mom.

I shall forgive myself because this pit of guilty feeling is even deeper than my three-feet bed. My son is fine, I shall be better then.

For those parents who have the same experience and feeling like mine, forgive yourself and be better each day.

Author:

Being with children turns out to be the most enjoyable time for me. In professional line, I never expected that the best lesson of life come through those little hands of children - with their purity, sincerity and truthfulness. Whenever I sit with a child, I let them lead my understanding of their world - I let their sight guide my way of looking at them. And I always coming to a new land to discover and understand. God bless them! I am a mother of a two-year old boy. His presence strengthen my calling toward children and I am hoping that a lot more hands are willing to give their best for our children - wherever they are.

Leave a comment